Site Loader
Book Tee Time


Grande Meadows Golf Course

Match Play Scores


Match Play Finals


Barry Stacey



Barry Stacey captured the 2020 Grande Meadows Match Play Championship on Thursday with a 4 & 2 victory over Mike Russell. Russell went 2 up after 6 holes but Stacey managed to get the match all square at the turn. The match stayed even through 12 holes and then Stacey won the next 4 holes to cruise to his 4th Match Play title having previously won in 2001, 2004 and 2013.






Mike Russell, Barry Stacey





Eric Ayers

Meanwhile Eric Ayers got by Stan McCarthy 5 & 3 to win the 2020 Match Play Consolation Final. The match was back and forth for the first 4 holes until Ayers won holes 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 to go 5 up after 9 holes. With such a lead Ayers just cruised along closing out the match on Hole #15.


Stan McCarthy, Eric Ayers


Round 4 Scoring

Round 4 saw Mike Russell receive the bye into the final while Barry Stacey was scheduled to take on Clayton Welsh in the Semi-finals. Unfortunately Clayton had to withdraw to back problems so Stacey advanced to take on Russell in the fianls.

Round 3 Scoring

1      Mike Russell defeated John Bugden 7 & 6

2      Barry Stacey over Terry White 3 & 1

Clayton Welsh received the bye in Round 3

Round 2 Scoring

1      Barry Stacey got by Matthew Hackett 1 UP

2.     John Bugden over Bill Buffett 1 UP

3.     Clayton Welsh won over Kevin Carvery 3 & 2

4.     Mike Russell also defeated Bob Hoyles 3 & 2

Terry White had the second round bye.

In Consolation Round action Edmund Antle got by Gary Smith 2 UP while Eric Ayers got by Bob Banfield 3 & 1.

Round 1 Scoring

1     Barry Stacey over Gary Smith 4 & 2

2     Matthew Hackett over Edmund Antle    2UP

3     Bill Buffett over Bob Banfield

4     John Bugden over Eric Ayers    1 UP

5     Clayton Welsh over Wayne Antle    2 & 1

6     Kevin Carvery over Ben Grandy    5 & 3

7     Mike Russell over Brad Russell    7 & 6

8    Bob Hoyles over Deon Grandy      6 & 5

9     Terry White over Stan McCarthy    2 UP

Round 2 sees Barry Stacey take on Matthew Hackett, Bill Buffett going up against John Bugden, Clayton Welsh take on Kevin Carvery and Mike Russell going up against Bob Hoyles. Terry White has the second round bye.

Consolation round action sees Gary Smith go up against Edmund Antle, Bob Banfield taking on Eric Ayers, Wayne Antle facing off against Ben Grandy while Brad Russell challenges Deon Grandy. Stan McCarthy receives the Consolation round 1 bye.

Post Author: William Short