Site Loader
Book Tee Time

2016 Grande Meadows Match Play Tournament

Bob Hoyles wins 2016 Match Play Championship

""Bob Hoyles won the Grande Meadows Match Play championship for the 3rd time as he defeated Mike Russell 2UP to capture the 2016 title. Russell got off to a great start on the front 9 as he birdied Hole #1 to go 1 up followed by 3 straight pars to go 3UP after 4 holes. The score stayed that way until Hoyles birdied Holes #8 & #9 to finish the front 9 just 1DN.

Hoyles drew even on Hole #10 with a par but Russell birdied Hole #11 to go 1UP. However, not to be outdone Hoyles took the next 3 holes to go 2UP after Hole #14. Russell took Holes #15 & #16 to even the match. But the pressure proved too much for Russell as he bogeyed Hole #17 to go 1 DN and Hoyles closed out the match with a bogey on Hole #18. 

Hoyles previously won for the first time over Dick Hanrahan in 2006 and the second time over Perry Stone in 2009.


""It was one of the most closely contested final matches in the Grande Meadows Match Play Tournament. Check out the scorecard below.


After taking a hiatus last season Match Play was once again up for grabs this season. The tournament has been ongoing over the summer and has been whittled down to 2 finalists – Bob Hoyles and Mike Russell.

In Round 3 matches Hoyles got by Matthew Hackett 2 & 1 while Russell got the win over Perry Stone by a 3 & 1 score.

In Round 2 Hoyles defeated Gerard Cooke 6 & 5 while Russell won over Kevin Carvery 2 & 1. Other second round matches saw Hackett defeat Ches Cribb 2 & 1 while Stone got by John Bugden 3 & 2.

In Round 1 Hoyles defeated Bob Banfield 3 & 2 while Russell got by Jeremy Cribb 6 & 5. Other round 1 scores saw Ches Cribb win 1 up over Everett Farewell and Hackett 2 & 1 over Eric Ayers. Other matches saw Cooke win over Richard Kelly, Carvery over Clayton Welsh, Budgen over Frank Haskell and Stone over Stan McCarthy.

Consolation round scores will follow.

Post Author: William Short