Site Loader
Book Tee Time

Sam Warren wins the 2022 B. P. Open

Sam Warren carded a low round of 76 to capture his first Burin Peninsula Open Golf Championship on Saturday. Defending champion Matthew Hackett and Perry Stone finished in a tie for second with scores of 79. Mike Blagdon won the Low Net with a score of 72.
Tracy Blagdon won a very competitive Ladies Division with a round of 98 to win by 1 stroke over Debbie Kenway and Judy Drake who posted scores of 99. Marilyn McCarthy won the Low Net with a score of 71.
Calvin Brenton shot a personal best score this year of 81 to take Division 2 over Kevin Pittman who fired an 83. Joe Drake came in 3rd place with an 84. Kevin Pittman won the Low Net with a score of 69.
Al Lewis’s 91 was good enough to win Division 3 by 1 stroke over Stan McCarthy’s 92. Dick Hanrahan carded an 93 to finish 1 stroke back in 3rd place. Dick Hanrahan won the Low Net with a total of 71.
Art Cluett won the Men’s Division 4 with a score of 81 while John Bugden finished in second with 93 and Vernon Savoury was 3rd with a score of 103.

Division 1 Winners

1Sam Warren761Mike Blagdon72
2Perry Stone792Mike Russell74
3Matthew Hackett793Bob Hoyles74
4Ray Walsh804Gus Keating74

Division 2 Winners

1Calvin Brenton811Kevin Pittman69
2Joe Drake842Glenn Price75
3Cory Gulliver863Carl Brown76
4Bob Banfield894Glenn Picco78

Division 3 Winners

1Al Lewis911Dick Hanrahan71
2Stan McCarthy922Terry White72
3Paul Lambe943Dan Walsh77
4Jim Pittman954Bob Brenton79

Division 4 Winners

1Art Cluett81
2John Bugden93
3Vernon Savoury103

Ladies Division Winners

1Tracey Blagdon981Marilyn McCarthy71
2Debbie Kenway992Denisine Nolan74
3Judy Drake993Brenda Foley80

On Course Prizes:

  • Closest-to-the-line Hole #2 —- Dan Walsh
  • Closest-to-the-pin Hole #3 —- Calvin Brenton
  • Longest Drive Men Hole #5 —- Perry Stone
  • Closest-to-the-pin Hole #7 —- Glenn Price
  • Longest Drive Hole #8 Ladies — Tracy Blagdon

15th Annual Golf Tournament

Note: Saturday’s BP Open will begin with a shotgun start at 8:00am. Groupings for each player will be posted here on Thursday morning. At the moment there are 56 players registered to play and we have room for 4 more. These spots will be taken on a first come-first served basis. Send an email along to Barry Stacey at

The following is the groupings for each hole of the shotgun start on Saturday morning. If you are in the A group on a hole it means that your group tees off first.

Hole #1A
Mike Blagdon
Barry Stacey
George Janes
Hole #1B
Matthew Hackett
Perry Stone
Mike Russell
Sam Warren
Hole #2A
Bill Hanrahan
Gus Keating
Deon Grandy
Ray Walsh
Hole #2B
Jordan Baird
Bob Hoyles
Eric Evans
James Mitchell
Hole #3
Tony Mitchell
Cory Gulliver
Albert Pike
Joe Drake
Hole #4A
Glenn Picco
Darren Brenton
Noel Doyle
Hole #4 B
Kevin Pittman
Kevin Power
Ches Cribb
Brad Russell
Hole #5A
Carl Brown
Calvin Brenton
Glenn Price
Bob Banfield
Hole #5 B
Paul Lambe
Ben Grandy
Al Lewis
Jim Pittman
Hole #6A
Dan Walsh
Eric Ayers
Bob Brenton
Dick Hanrahan
Hole #6 B
Terry White
George Rose
Todd Harris
Hole #7A
David Caines
Timothy Walters
Stan McCarthy
Hole #8A
Judy Drake
Debbie Kenway
Tracy Blagdon
Hole #8B
Brenda Foley
Denisine Nolan
Marilyn McCarthy
Hole #9A
John Bugden
Art Cluett
Vernon Savoury

Rules For The Tournament

  • Date: Saturday July 23
  • Registration: $25.00 For Members and $40.00 for Non-Members which includes green fees and a lunch as well as a 2 for the price of 1 Molson product.
  • Format: 18 Holes Stroke Play
  • Prizes: Both Gross and Net – Depends on Number of Participants
  • Hole-in-one on Hole #3 Sponsored by Aylwards Home Hardware
  • Some Draw Prize Meals From Mulligan’s Pub
  • Divisional Skins $5 – Optional
  • Divisions: Divisional Setup will be determined by the number of participants
  • Register: Please Sign up on the Bulletin Board at the Clubhouse.
  • Fees may be paid to any of those listed below.
  • Registration Deadline: Saturday July 16 or see below!


  • NL Power
  • Aylwards Home Hardware
  • Marystown Home Heat
  • Molson Brewery
  • John’s Refrigeration
  • Golf NL
  • Pike’s Ace Building Center
  • Brian Keating


Registration Limit: Registration is limited to the first 60 players who pay their registration fee.

Post Author: Barry Stacey