Site Loader
Book Tee Time

Bob Faulkner of Bally Haly Golf and Curling Club captured the 12th Annual Men’s Invitational on the past weekend with a two day score of 157.  After shooting an opening round of 80 on Saturday to sit in a tie with Joe Drake of Grande Meadows and a one shot lead over Dave Roberts of Bally Haly and Frank Blagdon of Grande Meadows, Faulkner came back with a round of 77 on Sunday to win by 5 strokes over Drake who carded an 82 on Sunday.  Roberts shot 83 on Sunday while Bladgon had an 84 to finish 7 and 8 shots back respectively.  It was the second win for Faulkner who picked up his first win in 2005.  It also marks the 11th straight win for Bally Haly golfers.  The only other winner was Glen Burke of Harmon in Stephenville who won the first Invitational in 1998.

Bill Morrissey of Pitcher’s Pond Golf Course shot scores of 77 on Saturday and a 1 under par 71 on Sunday for a two day total of 148.  However, since Morrissey is the Club Professional at Pitchers Pond he doesn’t accept prizes but plays for the competition.  His 71 was one stroke off the Tournament Record 70 set by Jason Hill in 2004.  Hill won the Invitational for 6 years in a row from 1999-2004.  The only other golfer to shoot 71 in the Invitational was Glen Burke in the first Invitational in 1998.

Edmund Antle of Grande Meadows won the B Division with a two day total of 167 from scores of 82 and 85. Jim Farewell of Grande Meadows finished as runner-up with a total of 173 from scores of 83 and 90 while Ray Gushue of Bally Haly finished third with a total of 175 with daily scores of 84 and 91.

Shawn Keating of Grande Meadows won the C Division with a total of 191, having carded a 95 on Saturday and 96 on Sunday.  Wayne Butler of Grande Meadows finished second with scores of 99 and 94 for a 193 total followed closely by Bill Buffett and Dan Walsh both of Grande Meadows with totals of 195.  Buffett had scores of 98 and 97 while Walsh had scores of 94 and 101.  Day one leader Keith Warren with a 93 ballooned to a 112 on Sunday to finish well back.

Joe Drake of Grande Meadows won the A Divison Low Net with a two day total of 138 to finish ahead of Terry Hodder of Bally Haly and Frank Blagdon who both had totals of 147 while Butch Barron of Harmon had 150.

In B Division Jim Farewell won the Low Net with a 145 total while Peter Coady finished second with a total of 148, one stroke ahead of Harvey Pike who had a 150 total.  All three golfers are from Grande Meadows.

In C Division Don Walsh and Andre Truter of Grande Meadows finished in a tie with a total of 144 while Trevor Pardy finished 3rd with a 147 total.


Post Author: William Short