Site Loader
Book Tee Time
Matthew Hackett

Matthew Hackett of Grande Meadows captured his 3rd straight Invitational championship on Sunday as he fired an even par round of 72 to go along with an opening round 75 for a two day total of 147 which was good enough for a 10 stroke victory over Don Boland of Bally Haly who carded daily scores of 81 and 76 for a 157 total. Ray Walsh was alone in third with a 159 total from scores of 80 an 79.

Gary Smith of Grande Meadows won the B Division with scores of 85 & 83 for a two day total of 168 to win by 4 strokes over Tony Mitchell of Grande Meadows who carded daily scores of 88 and 84 for a 172 total. Rhodie Smith of St. John’s was alone in third place with a 173 total from daily scores of 86 and 87.

Sean Callahan of St. John’s captured the C Division title over Day 1 leader Dick Hanrahan of Grande Meadows by 1 stroke. Callahan had scores of 92 an 89 for a 181 total while Hanrahan carded scores of 86 and 96 for a two day total of 182. James Mitchell of Grande Meadows of Grande Meadows was 1 shot back in 3rd place with a 183 total from daily scores of 92 and 91.

Judy Drake won the Ladies Division with a two day total of 182 from scores of 89 and 93. Erin Hodder of Pitcher’s Pond Golf Course finished in second place with a two day total of 192 from scores of 101 and 91 followed in 3rd place by Denisine Nolan of Grande Meadows who finished in third place with a 194 total from scores of 99 and 95. This year we had 7 ladies take part which has been the most every.

Below are some photos of the winners as well as a photo of three former Invitational participants who passed away recently – from L to R in the photo: Jerry Adams, Kevin Carvery, Dave Brenton

See below all the winners.

A Division

1. Don BolandBH81761571. Bill HanrahanGM7473147
2. Ray WalshGM80791592. Barry StaceyGM7576151
3. Colin BudgellBH83781613. George JanesPP7676152
4. Perry StoneGM77841614. Mike RussellGM7181152
5. Deon GrandyGM80851655. Bob HoylesGM8074154

B Division

1. Gary SmithGM85831681. Bernie HalloranSJ7175146
2. Tony MitchellGM88841722. Glenn PriceGM7573148
3. Rhodie SmithSJ86871733. Mike BlagdonGM7276148
4. Edmund AntleGM84901744. Vince BakerGM7573148
5. Glenn PiccoGM95811765. Mike DouglasSJ7576151

C Division

1. Sean CallahanSJ92891811. Dick HanrahanGM6575140
2. James MitchellGM92911832. Al HuntGM7371144
3. Paul AndersonSJ103841873. Dan WalshGM7571146
4. Bill HalleyCLO96921884. Joe McCarthy
5. Mike StevensonSJ100911915. John DouglasSJ7969148

Ladies Division

1. Judy DrakeGM89931821. Denisine NolanGM7268140
2. Erin HodderPP101911922. Jeannette LundriganGM6971140
3. Tracy BlagdonGM1021012033. Brenda FoleyGM7777154
4. Carolyn BennettBH105982034.

Day one of the 24th Annual GM Invitational is in the books and defending champion Matthew Hackett leads the way after carding a round of 75 to lead Perry Stone by 2 strokes. Mike Russell is in 3rd 3 strokes back after shooting a 78 followed by Deon Grandy, Bill Morrissey and Ray Walsh who all carded scores of 80.

Edmund Antle leads the B Division by one stroke over Gary Smith and Mike Blagdon. Antle opened with an 84 while both Smith and Blagdon carded 85’s. Ches Cribb and Bernie Halloran are 2 strokes back after carding scores of 86.

Dick Hanrahan has a 6 stroke lead in the C Division after carding an 86 to lead by 6 strokes over Sean Callahan and James Mitchell who both had an opening round of 92. Dan Walsh was in 4th with a 94 while Art Cluett & Al Hunt sit in a tie for 5th with scores of 95.

Judy Drake opened with a round of 89 to lead by 10 strokes over Denisine Nolan and Jeannette McCarthy who shot scores of 99. Erin Hodder sits alone in 4th having shot an opening round 101.

Below are the Sunday June 13th Tee Times

Player 1Player 2Player 3Player 4
7:304Wayne ButlerTerry WhiteHarold PorterDave Gallant
7:388Paul AndersonKen TaylorJohn Power
7:4612Joe McCarthyArt CluettBill HalleyBill Dilny
7:5416Dale SlaneyAl HuntRandy TurpinJohn Douglas
8:0220Dick HanrahanSean CallahanJames MitchellDan Walsh
8:1024Tracy BlagdonBrenda FoleyCarolyn Bennett
8:1828Judy DrakeDenisine NolanJeannette LundriganErin Hodder
8:2632Carl HillWayne GrayChad AntleEric Power
8:3436Mike DouglasRichard KellyAaron StaceyDenny Collier
8:4240Stan McCarthyGlenn PriceBob BanfieldGlenn Picco
8:5044Rhodie SmithGeorge OsmondTony MitchellVince Baker
8:5848Bernie HalloranEdgar HillMike StevensonTroy Healey
9:0652Edmund AntleGary SmithMike BlagdonChes Cribb
9:1456Ray GushueJim SouthwellTerry HodderKevin Power
9:2260Jim FarewellCory GulliverKen CaseyRandy Harris
9:3064Gus KeatingSam WarrenHudson StrattonBob Hoyles

Bill HanrahanColin BudgellBarry StaceyGeorge Janes

Bill MorrisseyRay WalshJason HodderDon Boland
10:10Back 9

Matthew HackettPerry StoneMike RussellDeon Grandy

The 24th Annual Grande Meadows Invitational Golf Tournament goes on Friday to Sunday June 11 – 13. Defending champion Matthew Hackett of Grande Meadows will look to defend his title but will have lots of competition from previous champions Don Boland and Colin Budgell of Bally Haly in St. John’s as well as Ray Walsh, Perry Stone and Sam Warren of Grande Meadows who would like to take home the trophy again.

Along with 67 men this year sees 7 ladies taking part in the tournament including 5 from Grande Meadows namely Judy Drake, Brenda Foley, Tracy Keeping, Jeannette Lundrigan and Denisine Nolan along with Carolyn Bennett of Bally Haly and Erin Hodder of Pitcher’s Pond.

Friday is set aside for a practice round followed by 2 18 hole stroke play rounds on Saturday and Sunday. First tee time Saturday is at 7:30am.

Player 1Player 2Player 3Player 4
7:304Jason HodderBill MorrisseyDon BolandMatthew Hackett
7:388Colin BudgellMike RussellPerry StoneDeon Grandy
7:4612Ken CaseySam WarrenGus KeatingRay Walsh
7:5416Jim FarewellJimmy SouthwellCory GulliverBill Hanrahan
8:0220Bob HoylesGeorge JanesRandy HarrisBarry Stacey
8:1024Terry HodderRay GushueTony MitchellKevin Power
8:1828Edmund AntleGary SmithEric PowerChad Antle
8:2632Carl HillBob BanfieldChes CribbMike Blagdon
8:3436Richard KellyAaron StaceyMike DouglasDenny Collier
8:4240Randy TurpinDale SlaneyAl HuntJohn Douglas
8:5044Glen PiccoVince BakerWayne GrayBrad Russell
8:5848Edgar HillBernie HalloranMike StevensonTroy Healey
9:0652Stan McCarthySean CallahanJohn PowerRandy Moulton
9:1456Glenn PriceGeorge OsmondArt CluettBill Halley
9:2260Dan WalshWayne ButlerDick HanrahanJames Mitchell
9:3063Joe McCarthyTerry WhiteBill Dilny
9:3867 Hudson StrattonRhodie SmithPaul AndersonKen Taylor
9:4670Harold PorterLeo KilfoyDave Gallant
9:5473Denisine NolanJeannette LundriganErin Hodder
10:0077Judy DrakeCarolyn BennettTracy BlagdonBrenda Foley

Post Author: Barry Stacey