Site Loader
Book Tee Time

McCarthy Wins 2023 Invitational

Owen McCarthy captured his second Grande Meadows Invitational Golf Tournament on Sunday afternoon after carding an even par round of 72 to go along with an opening day round of 78 on Saturday for a 2 day total of 150. McCarthy who won the tournament as a member of Bally Haly in 2006 trailed 5 time Champion Matthew Hackett by 1 stroke after Saturday’s round when Hackett shot a 77. Hackett managed a second straight 77 on Sunday for a 2 day total of 154, just 4 strokes of McCarthy’s pace. Former champion Perry Stone was alone in 3rd with a 157 total. Hackett won the Low Net with a 2 day total of 148.
For the first time in 19 tries at the Grande Meadows Invitational Ray Gushue of Bally Haly won his Division. The 27 hole tournament which was shortened from 36 holes because of rain Saturday saw Gushue card a two day total of 124 from scores of 40 and 84 to win by 3 strokes over Cory Gulliver of Pitcher’s Pond who carded daily scores of 42 and 85 for a 127 total. Gerald Rockwood of Bally Haly finished in 3rd place with a 2 day total of 129 from scores of 41 and 88. Gulliver won the Low Net with a 102 total.
Carl Hill of Bally Haly lead the C Dvision by 1 stroke over Derek Button of Portugal Cove after Saturday’s opening 9 holes and hung for a 1 shot victory on Sunday. Hill carded a round of 97 on Sunday to go along with a 44 on Saturday for a 2 day total of 141 while Button had a round of 96 on Sunday to go along with a 46 on Saturday for a 2 day total of 142. It was Hill’s first time to win a Division in 22 trips to the Grande Meadows Invitational. Tom Burry of Bally Haly finished in 3rd place with a 2 day total of 146 from daily scores of 46 and 100. Burry won the Low Net with a 2 day total of 104.
Art Cluett of Grande Meadows won the D Division with a 2 day total of 142 having carded daily scores of 53 and 89 to win by 2 strokes over Dick Hanrahan of Grande Meadows who had scores of 52 and 92 for a total of 144. Saturday’s leader Dave Gallant of Stephenville who carded an opening score of 50 came in with a 109 on Sunday for a total of 159. Gallant was the Low Net at 109.

Tracy Blagdon was the top lady with a 2 day total of 158 having carded scores of 54 and 104 to win over Marilyn McCarthy who carded daily scores of 59 and 105 for a 164 total.

See All Winners Below.

A Division
1. Owen McCarthyGM78721501. Matthew HackettGM7474148
2. Perry StoneGM80771572. Mike BlagdonGM7777154
3. Sam WarrenGM88821703. Paul HartsonGM8374157
B Division
1. Ray GushueBH40841241. Cory GulliverPP2973102
2. Gerard RockwoodBH41881292. Bob BanfieldGM3472106
3. Dylan HartsonGM45861313. Edmund AntleGM3180111
C Division
1. Carl HillBH44971411. Derek ButtonSJ2777104
2. Tom BurryBH461001462. Eric AyersGM3575110
3. Paul LambeGM53951483. Stan McCarthyGM3281113
D Division
1. Art CluettGM53891421.

2. Dick HanrahanGM501091592.

3. Dave GallantHAR52921443.

Saturday Tee Times Below

The 26th Annual Grande Meadows Invitational is scheduled for Friday to Sunday June 9 – 11. Friday is set for a practise round with 2 18 hole rounds of stroke play scheduled for Saturday & Sunday.

The tournament is open to both men and women and all are welcome.

Registration fee is $130.00 (HST Included). One can register by calling the clubhouse at 709-826-2600.

For more information contact Tournament Chairman Mike Russell at (709)837-7462 or

Pre-registration is scheduled for Friday June 9 with check-in during the afternoon.

26th Grande Meadows Invitational Tee Times Saturday June 10, 2023

Player 1Player 2Player 3Player 4
8:004Mike BlagdonOwen McCarthyMatthew HackettPerry Stone
8:088Sam WarrenKen CaseyMike RussellJordan Baird
8:1612Bob HoylesDave WallBill HanrahanEvan Whyte
8:2416Paul HartsonJoe DrakePat WilliamsBarry Stacey
8:3220Tony MitchellGeorge JanesAlbert PikeJames Mitchell
8:4024Jimmy SouthwellCraig HiscockRay GushueTerry Hodder
8:4828Glenn PiccoJim FarewellCory GulliverDylan Hartson
8:5632Dick HyslopGerald RockwoodVince BakerCalvin Brenton
9:0436Chad AntleWayne AntleEdmund AntleBob Banfield
9:1240Art CluettJustin CluettBrad PollettRichard Kelly
9:2044Bern ParsonsGary SmithBill HalleyDuane Winsor
9:2848Glenn PriceCarl HillWayne GrayTom Burry
9:3652Wayne ButlerDenny CollierStan McCarthyPaul Lambe
9:4456Derek ButtonKeith WarrenGeorge OsmondEric Ayers
9:5260Dick HanrahanDave GallantVernon SavouryHarold Porter
10:0064Judy DrakeTracy BlagdonBrenda FoleyMarilyn McCarthy




Post Author: Barry Stacey